Random bouncing ball with no friction

Official forum for the Chipmunk2D Physics Library.
TheServo

Random bouncing ball with no friction

Post by TheServo »

Im new to chipmunk, and I'm working on getting a ball to bounce off the wall, change direction, and never stop. I read on the forum to use cpMomentForCircle with the same radii and and no offset for a ping pong effect, but I'm not having any luck. I'm under the impression friction makes a difference, but setting it to 0 didn't do anything for me. At best I got it to bounce a few times then go off the screen for good. If anyone could just point me in the right path that would be great, not necessarily looking for code.

Thanks
Buschmaster

Re: Random bouncing ball with no friction

Post by Buschmaster »

TheServo wrote:Im new to chipmunk, and I'm working on getting a ball to bounce off the wall, change direction, and never stop. I read on the forum to use cpMomentForCircle with the same radii and and no offset for a ping pong effect, but I'm not having any luck. I'm under the impression friction makes a difference, but setting it to 0 didn't do anything for me. At best I got it to bounce a few times then go off the screen for good. If anyone could just point me in the right path that would be great, not necessarily looking for code.

Thanks
Do you mean something similar to like a brickout-type game but without any bricks or paddles?

What platform are you developing for?
TheServo

Post by TheServo »

Yeah similar, just a ball bouncing that bounces off a wall, changes direction, hits another wall, repeats. Sorry im developing for the iPhone
Buschmaster

Post by Buschmaster »

TheServo wrote:Yeah similar, just a ball bouncing that bounces off a wall, changes direction, hits another wall, repeats. Sorry im developing for the iPhone