Objects bouncing off too hard

Official forum for the Chipmunk2D Physics Library.
igalic

Objects bouncing off too hard

Post by igalic »

Hi!

I'm pretty new to physics engines (this is the first one I've used), and I've run into some problems - hopefully people here have already encountered them and found some solutions :)

What I'm trying to do is have some objects on the screen, floating in liquid. To simulate the liquid, I've set the damping factor of the space. The objects (circles) interact well with each other, but I need to be able to pick one of them and drag it around the screen. That's when troubles start.
I've used the approach from cpMouse to drag the object around the screen, but I've had two problems. One was that it was easy to drag this object off the screen, but I've solved it by simply resetting the objects' position if they are out of bounds.

The other problem I have is that when you drag one object into the others they behave very strange - either they bounce off very very fast, or start spinning strangely. This especially happens if you put a few objects in a corner, and then try to "squeeze them out" with the object you're dragging. They seem to explode and start going off in all directions.
I assume it's expected behavior from the physics engine, but has any of you had such problems and what would be a good way to go about solving it? What exactly is causing this behavior?

Thanks,
Ivan
ker

Re: Objects bouncing off too hard

Post by ker »

for the going off-screen part: do you have boundaries? if so, maybe your timestep is too large.

For the jiggery objects when pushed together, yea, that's pretty normal. Maybe playing around w/ iterations, timstepsize, elasticIterations and elasticity might improve the behavior a little.

You could modify cpMouse to use a slide joint instead of a pinjoint, this will lead to the object hanging below the mouse, but having a little more freedom of movement.
igalic

Post by igalic »