Top down pivot constraint confusion

Official forum for the Chipmunk2D Physics Library.
dorthysmash

Top down pivot constraint confusion

Post by dorthysmash »

I've been reading through the forums and going through the tank demo, so I apologize if I'm missing the obvious here. I'm still pretty new to working with chipmunk. And thanks for all the work on the chipmunk and for the assistance! Sorry for length, I figure more info is better than less...

Basically I'm trying to get a top-down game working where I can push objects (nothing fancy). I first got my player movement working how I wanted without using the control body. So I just have a cpBody and a cpCircleShape. Using the mouse I would set a goal position and then use cpBodySlew() to move towards that goal position. Everything was working as expected that way. Then I tried to add the control body like the tank demo does and all hell broke loose ^_^. So I thought I could simply set up the control body and the pivot joint, and then run cpBodySlew() on my control body and everything would just work. However I'm getting a lot of unexpected behavior (I'm sure it's expected, I'm just not expecting it).

1) Does cpBodySlew work on static bodies that aren't part of the space? As far as I can see, it has no effect.

2) Do I need to manually update the control body position after the body is updated? From what I'm seeing, my normal body is anchored to the position of the static body, but with some amount of give. From looking at the tank demo, it looks like the control body position is never updated. However I can only get my body to move if I update the control body position after I call cpSpaceStep().