Sleep

Official forum for the Chipmunk2D Physics Library.
dc443

Sleep

Post by dc443 »

One thing that I've noticed is kinda lacking from this already exceedingly excellent library is some sort of sleep parameter so objects get disabled when they have reached a stable equilibrium state and are awakened when an object near it (or near an object connected to it thru a joint or constraint or even contact collision) collides with it.

I was reminded of this while running the Box2D demo, where a gigantic pyramid stack can be made to go to sleep even after you've screwed around with it. If you can get this working well with the spatial hashing, slembcke, it could provide huge performance increases for certain applications (huge environments with many many objects spread over large distances) without needing to make custom code for disabling certain parts of the simulation. I'd write something to attempt this, but i'm a noob and it would take me forever.

Also, on a somewhat related note, stacking of objects with a greater than zero elasticity seems to not be implemented; i'm sure this will be fixed/completed in due time... any suggestions for a temporary way around this limitation? In fact, it looks like this will need to be dealt with before the sleeping, otherwise sleep will only work on objects with zero elasticity...
slembcke
Site Admin

Re: Sleep

Post by slembcke »

Yeah. Sleep would would definitely be an order of magnitude improvement for a lot of scenes. The problem is that it's not trivial to implement well. I had working code at one point for sleeping bodies, but waking up a bodies neighbors was never implemented. Hit the bottom box out of a pile and the rest stay floating.