Dragging Objects Differently (half physics?)

Official forum for the Chipmunk2D Physics Library.
tolmasky

Dragging Objects Differently (half physics?)

Post by tolmasky »

So I've seen some examples online on how to drag and move objects interactively (either through the mouse or touch), but all of these do it through constraints and such, giving the objects they move velocities, and forces and so forth. This is great for a lot of applications, but in my particular case I want something slightly different. I am still new to Chipmunk so my apologies if this question has an obvious answer or takes too long to explain:

To make my requirements slightly easier to understand, allow me to give an example. Let's pretend I am writing a hockey game. In this game there is a puck as viewed from above (represented as a circle shape and associated body) and a stick (rectangle shape to make things easy). When the user click-drags, the stick appears under the pointer and it tracks his movement exactly (Algorithmically speaking, I am just updating the .pos of the stick's body on every mouse move -- in other words, no delay as the mouse moves around).

Now, if this stick shape/body comes into contact with the puck, the puck should feel the "force" of the stick. In other words, dragging quickly should hit the puck stronger than dragging slowly. HOWEVER, I don't want the stick itself to have velocity because if the user lets go it would seem really weird for the stick to go flying all over the place. Iwould want it to stand still. More importantly, as the user moves the stick around, I don't want it to be rotating all over the place due to its inertia and where the user decided to pick it up (center vs. edges).

To expand on this, two sticks may appear at once (say this is a two player game), so the interactions should otherwise continue as expected.