Building with cmake error :(

Official forum for the Chipmunk2D Physics Library.
Post Reply
kordman916
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 9:07 pm
Contact:

Building with cmake error :(

Post by kordman916 »

Hey everyone,

I've seemed to run into a problem trying to build/compile the latest version of Chipmunk.

Everytime I try to compile in terminal using cmake on Ubuntu 10.10 I get this error:

Code: Select all

kordell@Kordell-PC:~/SDK/Chipmunk-5.3.2$ cmake .
-- The C compiler identification is GNU
-- The CXX compiler identification is GNU
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/gcc
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/gcc -- works
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/c++
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/c++ -- works
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info - done
-- Looking for XOpenDisplay in /usr/lib/libX11.so;/usr/lib/libXext.so
-- Looking for XOpenDisplay in /usr/lib/libX11.so;/usr/lib/libXext.so - found
-- Looking for gethostbyname
-- Looking for gethostbyname - found
-- Looking for connect
-- Looking for connect - found
-- Looking for remove
-- Looking for remove - found
-- Looking for shmat
-- Looking for shmat - found
-- Looking for IceConnectionNumber in ICE
-- Looking for IceConnectionNumber in ICE - found
-- Found X11: /usr/lib/libX11.so
CMake Error: The following variables are used in this project, but they are set to NOTFOUND.
Please set them or make sure they are set and tested correctly in the CMake files:
GLUT_Xmu_LIBRARY (ADVANCED)
    linked by target "chipmunk_demos" in directory /home/kordell/SDK/Chipmunk-5.3.2/Demo

-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
kordell@Kordell-PC:~/SDK/Chipmunk-5.3.2$ 
What should I do? I was able to compile Box2D without any problems what's the deal here?
User avatar
slembcke
Site Admin
Posts: 4166
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 7:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Building with cmake error :(

Post by slembcke »

Somebody else ran into that exact same build error before, it's because CMake can't find GLUT. They said they fixed it by installing glut3 and glut3-dev.
Can't sleep... Chipmunks will eat me...
Check out our latest projects! -> http://howlingmoonsoftware.com/wordpress/
kordman916
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 9:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Building with cmake error :(

Post by kordman916 »

I checked and I already have Glut and the development packages.

But just to be sure I reinstalled them and it still didn't work... :cry:
kordman916
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 9:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Building with cmake error :(

Post by kordman916 »

Nevermind Problem Solved :D
User avatar
slembcke
Site Admin
Posts: 4166
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 7:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Building with cmake error :(

Post by slembcke »

So what was the problem then?
Can't sleep... Chipmunks will eat me...
Check out our latest projects! -> http://howlingmoonsoftware.com/wordpress/
kordman916
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 9:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Building with cmake error :(

Post by kordman916 »

I opened the package manager and downloaded the "libxmu" and "libxmu-dev" packages
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 16 guests