Collision Detection and manual rotated shapes

Official forum for the Chipmunk2D Physics Library.
extraz

Collision Detection and manual rotated shapes

Post by extraz »

Hi,

I am quite new with Chipmunk, I am currently having a problem with collisionHandler and callbacks.

I have a simple rectangle 5x10 in which I manually set the angle using cpBodySetAngle() when the user does something, (I update the image base on the body->a variable and it shows up correctly so I assume the angle value is correct.

Say the user turn the rectangle 45 degree, when another object collide with it and the callback event is called, the collision point is not where the object hits.

Hence, ideally I want the collision point to be like at point X in the diagram below

Code: Select all

___
   /  /
  /__x

But I am getting this

___
   /  /
  /__/ x

Is this happening because I am setting the angle manually?

Appreciate any help.

Thank you
extraz
extraz

Re: Collision Detection and manual rotated shapes

Post by extraz »

Help please?
mobilebros

Post by mobilebros »

I would guess your rotation calculation is incorrect..... the 'a' variable is in radians, so keep that in mind.
extraz

Post by extraz »

Thanks for the reply but I believe the rotation is correct and I am using radians. The reason why I believe it is correct because the display image rotation is based on Chipmunk body->a and it displayed correctly.
slembcke
Site Admin

Post by slembcke »

Just got home from a long weekend. How far out of the shape is the collision point? Collision points aren't necessarily on the surface of the shapes. Sometimes you have to estimate a point based on how much they are overlapping. The more the shapes overlap, the worse the estimate will be.
Can't sleep... Chipmunks will eat me...
Check out our latest projects! -> http://howlingmoonsoftware.com/wordpress/
extraz

Post by extraz »

Hi Slembcke,

Thanks for the reply, I hope you had a good long weekend.