Connection between Chipmunk and Pymunk

Discuss new features and future development.
pwagner

Connection between Chipmunk and Pymunk

Post by pwagner »

Hey there,

I'm in research for a project to calculate some object motion based on a physics engine. My starting point is the game 'Block Builder' which is written in python using pygame which is preferable as I'm a python developer. Therefore I'm trying to figure out if the Pymunk project is still under active development or not? Maybe some of you can answer this.
While I already did a little investigation I found a post about a semi-automatic translation of Chipmunk to Pymunk (Output seems to be the file _chipmunk.py). Maybe this is under active development, but where are the differences in this two and is it still semi-automatic or in the mean time fully-automatic?

Thanks in advance
slembcke
Site Admin

Re: Connection between Chipmunk and Pymunk

Post by slembcke »

viblio, the guy that made Pymunk seems to post fairly regularly here so I'm guessing it's not a dead project. I don't know how actively it's maintained though. I never really written games in Python before.
Can't sleep... Chipmunks will eat me...
Check out our latest projects! -> http://howlingmoonsoftware.com/wordpress/
pwagner

Post by pwagner »

Thank you for the information. That would have been another try to contact the developer of pymunk directly.

Maybe you are able to help once again. As it seems the OLPC project did a comparison of chipmunk and Box2d (respectively their python wrapper) a couple of years ago (Link). They also draw the conclusion that pymunk could benefit of an interface generated with SWIG. So my question is: Is chipmunk SWIG compatible or the other way round does it use non ANSI C style?

Best regards
slembcke
Site Admin

Post by slembcke »