problem about the memory!

Official forum for the Chipmunk2D Physics Library.
yangzychina

problem about the memory!

Post by yangzychina »

Hi
Thanks to your great work.
I am a new chipmunk worker,and I am not good at English.
The Chipmunk is amaze,but I found that when the hardware's memory is not enough,and you use malloc funtion to get some memory,there is not any way to judge.
For Example:
In the cpSpaceNew(),when you use cpSpaceAlloc() to get memory,but It return NULL,this mean that you can not do anyting, but the cpSpaceInit() will be excuted. I am puzzled about this because I do not want to change an code of yours.
I want konw that is there any way to avoid the programe crash when you can not malloc the memory.
Thanks for your reading,and I am respected your response.
slembcke
Site Admin

Re: problem about the memory!

Post by slembcke »

Yes, Chipmunk assumes that memory allocations always succeed. It uses very very little memory so I didn't really expect it would ever be a problem. You can always replace the allocation functions with something that does more error checking and handles the error using an exception or longjmp.

From chipmunk.h

Code: Select all

#ifndef cpcalloc
	#define cpcalloc calloc
#endif

#ifndef cprealloc
	#define cprealloc realloc
#endif

#ifndef cpfree
	#define cpfree free
#endif
What hardware are you running it on that it's running out of RAM?
Can't sleep... Chipmunks will eat me...
Check out our latest projects! -> http://howlingmoonsoftware.com/wordpress/
yangzychina

Post by yangzychina »

Thanks for your reading and responsed.
I use the chipmunk in a feature phone that called mediatek(MTK),the hardware is limited by it's memroy. As I know,the memory in some version is about 700K, I think the 700K is the smallest. In some version It have more,about 1M or more.
So, I think I should to consider the worst condition,about 700K.
In the #ifndef cpcalloc
#define cpcalloc callocFun
#endif